For the latest City-related information and department impacts related to COVID-19, CLICK HERE.

Johnny Dawkins

Council Member District 5


dawkinsJohnny Dawkins
Council Member District 5
433 Hay Street
Fayetteville, NC 28301
(910) 433-1992

Johnny Dawkins was born and raised in Fayetteville, and later graduated from Wake Forest University in 1981.  While at Wake Forest, he created the Brian Piccolo Fund Drive for Cancer Research.  This student-led Piccolo Fund Drive has raised millions of dollars for cancer research, since its founding in 1980.

Mr. Dawkins is a Benefits Technology Consultant with EbenConcepts in Fayetteville.  Mr. Dawkins is a Past Chairman of the Fayetteville Chamber of Commerce, and a Past Chairman of the Chamber of Commerce’s Military Affairs Council.  He is an Honorary Member of the 82nd Airborne Division at Fort Bragg, and he is a former Honorary Wing Commander of the 43rd Airlift Wing at Pope Field.  He has served as the Chairman of the Pope Special Activities Committee, and as Chairman of the North Carolina Department of Insurance’s Health Insurance Agents Advisory Board.

Dawkins is a member of the Duke Cancer Institute’s Brain Tumor Board of Advisors. He has served on the Board of Directors of the Fayetteville Kiwanis Club, and he also served on the Deacon Board at Snyder Memorial Baptist Church.  Dawkins is a former member of the Fayetteville City Council (2003-05), the Fayetteville Urban Ministry Board, the Fayetteville State University Foundation Board, the Fayetteville Technical Community College Foundation Board, and the Care Clinic Foundation Board.  Mr. Dawkins was recognized as the national Distinguished Citizen of the year for 2008, by the United States Air Force’s Air Mobility Command, based at Scott AFB, Illinois.

Mr. Dawkins is married to the former Donna Palmer, and they have two grown children:  Jay and Jill.

District 5 Subdivisions

  • Bordeaux
  • Briarwood
  • Buckhead
  • Clairway
  • Drake Park
  • Evergreen Estates
  • Forest Lakes
  • Gallup Acres
  • Glendale Acres
  • Haymount* (also District 2)
  • Kingsford
  • Highland Village
  • Lafayette Village
  • Lake Frances
  • Lockwood
  • McPherson Estates
  • Murray Hills
  • Oakdale
  • South Hills
  • Stonebridge
  • Stratford Hills
  • Tallywood
  • Vanstory Hills
  • Welmar

City Council District 5 Election Map

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer