For the latest City-related information and department impacts related to COVID-19, CLICK HERE.

Yvonne Kinston

Council Member District 9


Low Res KinstonEvonne_9906Yvonne Kinston
Council Member District 9
433 Hay Street
Fayetteville, NC  28301


Yvonne Kinston was elected to her first term in November 2019 as the District 9 representative to the Fayetteville City Council. 

She has been employed by AT&T Mobility for 16 years as a sales and service agent. She is also the executive vice president of Communications Workers of America (CWA) 3680. She is currently serving a 2nd term as an executive board member of the North Carolina State AFL–CIO.
Yvonne has been recognized for her activism and love for community service work. North Carolina Governor’s Roy Cooper appointed her as a commissioner to the North Carolina Commission on Volunteerism and Community Service in 2017.

In April 2018, Yvonne completed the Institute for Community Leadership and in June 2018 she received the Communication Worker of America District 3 Karen J. Murphy Woman of the Year Award.  

Yvonne is a proud member of Swing Phi Swing Social Fellowship, Incorporated®. Yvonne is currently with the Harambee Graduate Chapter in Fayetteville where she chairs the Ebony Pearl Mentor Program committee.

She is a native of Fayetteville and a product of the Cumberland County school system.  Yvonne attended Fayetteville Technical Community College, where she earned her associate’s degree in general business administration. She then attended Fayetteville State University, where she earned a Bachelor of Arts in Business Administration. 

Yvonne is the mother of three children; Deja, Noah and David. In addition, she is a grandmother of two; London Lorenzo and Lauren.

“I have the passion to fight for what’s right and know that when all of us stand together, we can win.”

Yvonne is committed to Fayetteville and Community Service, with an eye toward engaging with and working with the support of the citizens of District 9, helping to grow the City of Fayetteville.

District 9 Subdivisions

  • Campground
  • Courtyards
  • Devonwood
  • Eden
  • Edens Farm
  • Forest Creek
  • Great Oaks
  • Hermitage
  • Howard Acres
  • Huntington Park
  • Kendall
  • Kirkwood
  • Lake Shores
  • Lands End
  • Loch Lomond
  • Montclair
  • Murray Fork
  • Newcastle
  • Summertime
  • The Lakes
  • The Oaks
  • The Villas
  • Three Colonies
  • Valley Forge
  • Water's Edge
  • Westlake
  • Westwood
  • Wind Tree Villas
  • Woodlands
  • Yadkin Acres

City Council District 9 Election Map


Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer